Different Clans in Naruto

Aburame Clan

Location: Konoha Village
Known Members: Aburame Shino, Abruame Shino's Father
Info: The Abruame Clan is most widely known for it's association with bugs. Once a member is born the bugs are allowed to feed on it's chakra. In exchange, the bugs will help them fight.

Akimichi Clan
Location: Mist Village
Known Members: Haku, Haku's Mother
Info: This clan was formed in the Mist Village. Not much is known about this clan. Most of the special attacks passed down from this clan has to do with the manipulation of water.

Hyuuga Clan
Location: Konoha Village
Known Members: Hyuuga Hanabi, Hyuuga Hiashi, Hyuuga Hinata, Hyuuga Hizashi, Hyuuga Neji
Info: The Hyuuga clan is most notably known for it's bloodline: The Byakugan. Hyuuga is one of the longest running clans in the series. This clan is run different than most clans. There are two families of the clan, the head and the branch family. There is much bitterness between them. The branch family is like slaves to the head family. They exist only to protect and sacrifice themselves for the head family. When a branch family member reaches four, they have a seal carved into there forehead which allows the head family to kill them with ease, stopping any revolt.

Inuzuka Clan
Location: Konoha Village
Known Members: Akamaru, Inuzuka Kiba
Info: This clan is known to have connections with canines which is why the members of this clan fight like dogs. Most of the attacks and abilities of these clan members are like duplicates of real dogs.

Kaguya Clan
Location: Mist Village
Known Members: Kaguya Kimimaro
Info: This clan is known for the ability to re-structure their bones. They can make their bones in their body turn into steel-strong weapons. Most of the members in the clan have been wiped out from battle.

Nara Clan
Location: Konoha Village
Members: Nara Shikamaru
Info: Members of this clan have the special ability with shadows. They can change their shadows to it follows others and controls their bodies so they emulate the exact movements of the shadow.

Uchiha Clan
Location: Konoha Village
Members: Uchiha Itachi, Uchiha Sasuke, Uchiha Sasuke's Father and Mother
Info: The Uchiha clan is one of the most feared clans. They have been completely decimated from the attack of fellow member Uchiha Itachi. Only he and his younger brother Sasuke remain. Members of the Uchiha clan have the special bloodline: Sharingan. This bloodline of the eyes allows those who carry it to copy attacks.

Ninja Ranks


Academy Students are young ninjas whom primarily focus on studying basic ninja techniques. Since they are usually quite inexperienced and weak, they are not included in the ninja workforce. The requirement to graduate from each academy varies in each village.


Requirements: Pass academy final exam. Entry level ranked ninjas are called Genin and are basically peon servants. They attain a metal forehead protector after graduating from the academy into a Genin. Much of the missions assigned to Genin are D-ranked, meaning that it's mere labor work and combat is rarely ever involved.M


Only exceptional ninjas who are able to pass the Chuunin Exam judged by the Kages are allowed to become Chuunins. Chuunins are often assigned higher level ranked missions. They are easily distinguished by their thick, green vest fancying stylish scroll pouches.


Requirements: Pass Jounin Exams. Elite ninjas showing incredible skills are given a Jounin ranking, meaning that they are eligible for high ranked missions such as assassination. Many Jounins lead a group of three Genins and assists them on their missions, preparing them for the Chuunin Exam. They act as a teacher and guidance counselor.

Ninja Councilor

Requirements: Jounin or higher ranking. These politicians work next to the Kage and make important decisions. Just like most politicians they like to rip everyone off and make a lot of money.


Requirements: Appointed by Kage. Ninjas who possess unmatched strength and skill are ranked right below that of a Kage. A maximum of three Sannin per village are appointed by each Kage. Sannins no longer wear forehead protectors or vests, in order to blend in with common civilians. They are emitted to perform dangerous S-Class missions.


Requirements: Appointed by council. Each village has a single Kage, who is the strongest of all ninjas and the political figurehead whom represents the village. Duties include assigning missions, judging the Chuunin and Jounin Exams, acting as a battle strategist, and finally protecting the city.


Requirements: Medicinal training program. Advanced ninjas who are able to carefully focus their chakra. Thus, enabling them with various medicinal healing techniques. When a Medical-Nin is added to a group, the chance of unnecessary deaths is dramatically reduced.


Requirements: ANBU training program. Elite military squads who enforce vigilance and justice are called ANBU. These guys are incredibly talented and specialize in assassination, investigation, and protection. They are distinguished by their animal mask and silver vest. Think of them as police with ninja skills!


Requirements: Hunter training program. These are bounty hunter ninjas who primarily specialize in tracking down vigilante criminal ninjas, otherwise known as Missing-Nins. They hold many secret abilities such as being able to completely deconstruct bodies, utterly destroying any secrets which they may hold.


Requirements: Piss off your village leaders. Missing-Nins have either betrayed or abandoned their country in search of ambitions which are often frowned upon. They are often hunted as prey by Hunter-Nins and aren't permitted to enter villages. Missing-Nins are trademarked by the slash cut into their headband across their country's national symbol.